The Japanese Film and Literature Society March Film

The Japanese Film and Literature Society presents:
Rashomon

Film: Rashomon
Wednesday, March 14th 2018
Movie Screening
Ottawa Public Library (120 Metcalfe St.) Basement Auditorium
6:00pm to 8:00pm

Book: In A Grove (Ryunosuke Akutagawa)
Wednesday, March 21st, 2018
Movie & Book Discussion
Ottawa Public Library (120 Metcalfe St.) Basement Room
6:00pm to 8:00pm

Film Description:
Rashomon was Akira Kurosawa’s 11th film as a director and his international breakthrough. The story, based on short stories by Ryūnosuke Akutagawa, features a horrible crime which is told through various conflicting points of view, raising questions about the nature of truth.  In feudal Japan, three men sheltering from a storm discuss an incident where a bandit raped a woman whose husband then somehow died. The film’s innovative narrative structure recounts that incident from four differing viewpoints.

More upcoming films/books:

Film: Kwaidan
Tues. May 16, 2018
Book: Kwaidan (Lafcadio Hearn)
Tues. May 23, 2018

Film: Norwegian Wood
Tues. July 18, 2018
Book: Norwegian Wood (Haruiki Murakami)
Tues. July 25

Film: The Remains of the Day
Tues. Sept. 12, 2018
Book: The Remains of the Day (Kenzaburo Oe)
Tues. Sept. 19

Film: Paprika
Tues. Oct. 17, 2018
Book: Paprika (Yasutaka Tsusui)
Tues. Oct. 24

Film: Silence
Tues. Dec. 12, 2018
Book: Silence (Shusaku Endo)
Tues. Dec. 18

Share: